Jharkhand Election Results: Third assembly election

The results of the Jharkhand assembly elections will be in front of the country in a while from now.


Counting of votes is going to start in 81 assembly seats of the state. The challenge before the Bharatiya Janata Party is to save its government in Jharkhand, while the JMM is trying to return to the government this time. This is the third assembly election after Narendra Modi came to power again with absolute majority, in such a situation, the challenge before the BJP is to strengthen its hold in the country.

Third assembly election in second innings?

After May 2019, assembly elections have been held in three states so far , Maharashtra-Haryana and now Jharkhand. The BJP somehow formed a government in one of these three states, but in Maharashtra, Shiv Sena-Congress-NCP broke the BJP's dream. Explain that the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance had got majority in Maharashtra, but after the results, it could not take the form of coalition government and BJP became the party of opposition.

Now everyone's eye is on the third state of Jharkhand, where the BJP is alone this time and the challenge is to beat the opponents.

Maharashtra- Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress

Haryana - BJP-JJP

Jharkhand- ???

What does the exit poll say?

Explain that the exit poll which has come out from Jharkhand is not good news for BJP. According to the India Today-Axis My India exit poll, the BJP may lose power in Jharkhand. According to exit poll estimates, the opposition coalition is going to win a decisive victory in the Jharkhand assembly elections.

This opposition alliance includes Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Congress and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). According to the estimate of exit poll in the 81-member house, BJP may win 22 to 32 seats. At the same time, the opposition coalition can get 38 to 50 seats. The magic figure of the majority in the Jharkhand assembly is 41.

What was the result in the last election?

In the 2014 assembly elections, BJP got 37 seats and its ally All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) got 5 seats. While JMM got 19 seats, Congress 6 and Babulal Marandi led party Jharkhand Vikas Morcha i.e. JVM got 8 seats. Later, 6 MLAs of JVM changed sides and supported BJP. Others also won 6 seats in the 2014 assembly.